MilitaryHarbor - Top
Display your banner here

WW2 Padded Crew Helmet?

Article about: Good Morning All, It is my first time posting, I recently purchades a Padded Armoured Crew Hemlet . It is a bit differnet than the more common type I have seen ( Especially on the sides for

Donald F Smith
    ?

Default WW2 Padded Crew Helmet?

Good Morning All,

It is my first time posting, I recently purchades a Padded Armoured Crew Hemlet . It is a bit differnet than the more common type I have seen ( Especially on the sides for the headset/ ear flaps.

I purchased this from a fellow who purchasd it in Budapest a few years ago.

It matches a picture of a simmilar helmet in thsi book:

Bielski, Lazlo. Stalin's War: Soviet Uniforms & Militaria 1941-45 in Colour Photographs. (Crowood Press: June 2006). Pg. 102

My questions are , is this a late war time type of Russian Armourd Crew padded helmet, or is this a post war variety?

It looks to me to have been used in film shooting of some sort, but I know that film costume housed purchase surplus.

One thing that has me wondering is, at the back of the interior of the helmet , there is a white tape sewn in with blue Cyrilic (sp?) printing.

Also there are bold black ink stamps int eh ear flaps that look liek they have "MAFILM" in an oval

I have attached piscture.

Can any of you fellows help me identify this helmet?

Thank you for your considderation

Best

Don S
    Attached Images Attached Images WW2 Padded Crew Helmet?  WW2 Padded Crew Helmet?  WW2 Padded Crew Helmet?  WW2 Padded Crew Helmet?  WW2 Padded Crew Helmet?  WW2 Padded Crew Helmet?  WW2 Padded Crew Helmet?  WW2 Padded Crew Helmet? 
    Last edited by Donald F Smith; 04-09-2010 at 10:48 PM.

2. # ADS

?

Default Re: WW2 Padded Crew Helmet?