Adlermilitaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Advise on preserving uniforms

Article about: Hello, I was wondering what is the best way to preserve a uniform. I have mine in display cases, I was wondering if it would be a good idea to place silica gel packets in the pockets and sho

Default Advise on preserving uniforms

Hello, I was wondering what is the best way to preserve a uniform. I have mine in display cases, I was wondering if it would be a good idea to place silica gel packets in the pockets and shoes of the uniforms to prevent damage. Any opinions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Advise on preserving uniforms
    P
    Many

There are two potential dangers, strong sunlight and moth. Avoiding the first is obvious, the second very much depends on where you live and the conditions in your house. I have been collecting uniforms for 28 years and I have never had to do anything to protect them- no new moth holes have ever appeared. As you have display cases, I would of thought there would be no problem. I wouldnt see any need for Silica Gell at all.

What about mold?

If you live in a warm, dry house, mold should be irrelevant.

Have you had any problems with it?

Not yet, I was just concerned and trying to prepare for the worse case scenario. Thanks for your help!

Your welcome.

Hello,
    A part of my Feldblusen, greatcoats and pants are stored on hangers in slipcovers, with "moth papers" in the pockets.
    Another part of the uniforms are on display on mannequins with "moth papers" in the pockets. They never see the sunlight as my war room is in complete darkness when i'm not in...i use a low lumen light when i'm in. I sometimes open the heavie curtains when i want to photograph a mannequin.