Rg-militaria - Top
Display your banner here

Help with this Heer tunic.

Article about: Gentlemen, A friend of mine who wants to start with WWII German militaria has been offered this tunic, Y-straps, belt and pouches. As far as the belt buckle, it seems to be legit, as well as

Default Help with this Heer tunic.

Gentlemen,

A friend of mine who wants to start with WWII German militaria has been offered this tunic, Y-straps, belt and pouches.

As far as the belt buckle, it seems to be legit, as well as the rest of equipment, bar the straps. But I am quite suspicious about the tunic. While I know the germans had HBT drill tunics, I am no expert in the field, but think that somehow this tunic is either postwar or simply a repro.

Sorry, unfortunately no better photos are available (a red flag in my book), but the closeup photo of the belt allows to see some of the features of the tunic.

I would be very grateful in you experts could shed a light as to know if the tunic is original or not.

Thanks in advance and regards,

Gus
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Help with this Heer tunic.   Help with this Heer tunic.  

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Help with this Heer tunic.
    P
    Many

Default Re: Help with this Heer tunic.

Hola Gus!
    Apart from the fact that,as you've rightly suggested,even when judging a tunic that would look genuine ten miles away detailed pictures would be mandatory,AFAIC this one is as genuine as a three-dollar bill!
    Belt and buckle look good though!
    HTH
    Manny

Hi Gus, as Manny says the belt and buckle appear original, but not the tunic.

Cheers, Ade.

Manny and Ade,

Thanks for your prompt and helpful replies.

I'll go tell my friend to stay away from it.

This set is from a guy in Argentina who says the tunic belonged to his grandfather, who had to flee Germany after the war and took the uniform with him. A bogus story for a bogus uniform.

Thanks again and regards,

Gus