Steyer Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Indetifying a Kriegsmarine Standort Segel Wettfahrten Ehrenpreis Badge

Article about: Dear forum experts, I recently obtained this piece for my collection. As always I would cherish your opinion on this piece. And if I can add it to my collection without hesitation? And is th

Default Indetifying a Kriegsmarine Standort Segel Wettfahrten Ehrenpreis Badge

Dear forum experts,

I recently obtained this piece for my collection. As always I would cherish your opinion on this piece. And if I can add it to my collection without hesitation? And is there a way to clean the oxidation blue stains on it? I am looking forward in hearing from you! Have a great day!

Sincerely,
    Frank

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Indetifying a Kriegsmarine Standort Segel Wettfahrten Ehrenpreis Badge
    P
    Many

I have no experience with such items, but my gut feeling is not good:

One thing that immediately concerns me is that it is on a field grey cloth backing (like combat shields). A prize for a sailing regatta was not authorized for wear on uniforms, so what's the point of the backing?

Also notice the filled-in "holes" at the top and bottom corners. My gut feeling is that this is a copy of a genuine prize that was affixed to a wooden plaque or something and that this is were the original had actual holes for the screws or nails.

Just my two cents. As I said, this is not my area of expertise, so wait for other comments.

Hello HPL!

Thank you for your views. I am sceptical myself. Maybe someone knows something about it. ;-) Thank you your views are appreciated!

Frank

Quote by HPL2008 View Post

One thing that immediately concerns me is that it is on a field grey cloth backing (like combat shields). A prize for a sailing regatta was not authorized for wear on uniforms, so what's the point of the backing?