Griffin Militaria - Top
Display your banner here

M35 Decal Help

Article about: Hi ladies and gents. I purchased this m35 from an antiques fair today and was told that it was a German ww2 police helmet. As I’m new to collecting German Militaria, I was interested as to w

Default M35 Decal Help

Hi ladies and gents.

I purchased this m35 from an antiques fair today and was told that it was a German ww2 police helmet. As I’m new to collecting German Militaria, I was interested as to what the decal should look like. From a quick search on the internet I realised that the decal doesn’t seem to match the double decal ones.

So my question is does anyone have any ideas about the decal? Also it seems like the helmet had a white band around it that has been scraped off.

M35 Decal HelpM35 Decal HelpM35 Decal HelpM35 Decal HelpM35 Decal HelpM35 Decal Help

My first thoughts were post war, maybe pre war or even fake.

Any information would be a great help thanks

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement M35 Decal Help
    P
    Many

MAP
    ?

Welcome Vodkamann (personally I prefer Kentucky Bourbon )

This helmet is actually a lightweight M34 helmet. Not a combat M35.

As far as the decal, it is too far gone for me to tell. Maybe others will recognize it. I would guess it is a postwar decal for a town/region. It also looks like at one time this helmet had a white stripe around it which has since been removed. It has a number of names in it. Some of which appear to be written in a felt tip marker. If I'm correct, that would indicate post war use as well.

Finally, and it may just be my eyes / photo, but it looks like (4:00 position) that there was another decal on this helmet at one time under the existing decal. (on second look, this just may be part of the existing decal)

I don't think the decal is fake however.
    "Please", Thank You" and proper manners appreciated

My greatest fear is that one day I will die and my wife will sell my guns for what I told her I paid for them