MilitaryHarbor - Top
Display your banner here
Page 5 of 28 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 15 ... LastLast

British MkIII Turtle pattern helmet

Article about: Hello Ade, Here's a post war Turtle given to me by a friend who found it in a garage. Mk IV 1954, manufactured by CCL. Do you know who CCL were? Cheers, Guy.

?

Default Re: British MkIII Turtle pattern helmet

Agree with you on that one Ben, and they were an even bigger pain when you went to ground wearing any sort of pack/radio harness.

They were great for showing recruits the potential repurcussions of misuse of pyrotechnics though, 1 X Thunderflash + 1 X steel helmet = 1 group of VERY enlightened recruits/Phase 1 trainee's!!

As I remember, as a radio operator, I had to wear mine reversed when I had a head set on, unless I could get away with either wearing my beret or no head-dress! The frame for the radio used to tip the helmet forward over the eyes when worn properly.

Regards etc

Ian D

AKA: Jimpy

?

Quote by Adrian Stevenson View Post
    Hi Chris, nets would have been added at unit level I think?

Cheers, Ade.
    Ade,

Helmet nets were individual issue, at my unit anyway, it was then down to the individual soldier to scrim up their lid as appropriate.
    A popular method of camouflaging the helmet was to get a hold of either a nylon cam-net square (off a vehicle cam-net) or a section of DPM material, put that on first, then the net, and thread some black elastic through the netting so that "local camouflage" could be added as necessary.

Regards etc

Ian D

AKA: Jimpy

ive just purchased one of these turtle helmets and im glad i did ,it looks great in my collection i also like the design on my liner it has 111 stamped and 1952 the rivits are quite close to the brim , i wonder why the mk3 had such a short production run ,

?

Hi,