Espenlaub Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Estate D-bale

Article about: Hi...I picked up this helmet along with a Luftwaffe helmet in Brussels today...the guy I bought it from cleans out houses in Belgium and doesn't really deal in militaria...the shell is in im

Default Estate D-bale

Hi...I picked up this helmet along with a Luftwaffe helmet in Brussels today...the guy I bought it from cleans out houses in Belgium and doesn't really deal in militaria...the shell is in impeccable condition & stamped 267A...moreover the shell has chinstrap bails that I've never seen before...a friend of mine said D-bales but as I'm no expert on M1s I'd like to ask you guys...the liner is a firestone tire company M1c liner in great condition. The hand painted markings are yellowish instead of white...it's the 508th PIR lighning bolts if I'm not mistaken...Opinions? Anyone
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Estate D-bale   Estate D-bale  

Estate D-bale   Estate D-bale  

Last edited by ajk99US; 08-16-2015 at 02:46 PM.

Hi, I do not collect in this area of helmets , but if what you have there is 100% spot on, then I think you have found a gem! I look forward to hearing the experts opinion. Leon.

sorry mate to be the bearer of bad news
    Leon is correct if it were a good one it would be worth a fortune.
    It looks like one which has been made for re-enactment.
    some points
    firestone didn't make ww2 airborne liners.
    inland and Hawley were the only two manufactures I know of that used OD3 coloured "A" frames.
    the welded feet of the bails on the M2 are all wrong.
    leather airborne chinstraps didn't have stitching around the cup
    sorry these are just a few things that stick out.
    wish it was a good one for you.
    Rod