Militaria Romandie - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Help finding a British helmet

Article about: Hey, I am new to collecting and want to start off with a British helmet as they are not as expensive as the German ones. I have looked at a few on Graham Currie's Militaria site, but I quite

Default Help finding a British helmet

Hey, I am new to collecting and want to start off with a British helmet as they are not as expensive as the German ones. I have looked at a few on Graham Currie's Militaria site, but I quite frankly have no idea what I am looking at and which websites to trust. Could any of you help me?

Thanks,
    Ron.

SMP
    ?

Member "Tinlid" has a website : http://www.ww2britishhelmets.co.uk/

Might be worth a look

Thanks for the help. Do you know of any other trusted sites just to get a look please?

?

JC militaria have a few nice helmets

Steve always has a a few for sale

Britton at War
    Regards,

Jerry

Whatever its just an opinion.

If you want a good basic intact Mk2, 3, 4 or 5 then you need go no further than Ebay. always lots available but do your research first so you know what you're looking for. Steer clear of anything with unusual and 'rare' paint schemes or insignia, as they are the ones likely to be faked or otherwise 'improved'. Remember that these helmets were in service for several decades so will have varying paint-schemes and fittings - dates of liner will not necessarily match date of shell, for example. Decide what you are looking for first - a good example of a service helmet or a helmet that is absolutely specific to a particular period.

It is unfortunate that there is no book that gives comprehensive information on British helmets (and not likely to be either) but for good information try The Brodie Helmet and its derivatives - The Brodie Helmet Reference Website and MKII Components and .: World War Helmets - Angleterre :. as well checking the web generally and the sites previously mentioned here.