Steyer Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Need Help Identifying helmet from Iraq.......

Article about: He also has it on back to front Cheers, Ade.

sslowered
    ?

Default Need Help Identifying helmet from Iraq.......

Hello everyone! I am a soldier In the US Army currently deployed to Iraq, and while on patrol came across this helmet on a canal bank. I have done as much research as possible and believe it to be a MK II British Helmet. I cant find any markings but, I will be taking a heavier brush to it tonight to try and remove some of the rust. So I will keep my eyes open for anything. It also has an interesting, kinda ornament on the top, kinda looks like a piece of round bread with ridges, and a round dot on top.

I am no expert by any means, so any help would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance for any help! cool military

sslowered
    ?

Default Re: Need Help Identifying helmet from Iraq.......

Sorry I forgot to add the pics!
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Need Help Identifying helmet from Iraq.......   Need Help Identifying helmet from Iraq.......  

Need Help Identifying helmet from Iraq.......   Need Help Identifying helmet from Iraq.......  

it looks like the remains of a brit tommy helmet but ive never seen a nut like that on one before, if its origanal to the helmet someone on here will know it

?

The best thing is to see if you can clean it up and fined any markers markings on the inside, due to the strange crown on the top of the helmet, it may possible even be a private purchase helmet from the first world war.

Nige.
    "Now, I've designed this like a collapsing bag ! "

Wow! This has just sent a shudder right through me!!!!

My missus's great grandfather died on the River Tigris during the First World War! He was serving in the Royal Navy as a cook, but somehow fell aboard, and was presumed drowned!! His name is on the cenotaph in our local park!