Great Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Need Help with M1 Helmet Liner!

Article about: Hi guys I'm a complete newbie with military relics. Today I went to a respected Military antiques store in Toronto and bought an M1 helmet and liner supposed to be vietnam era. The shell is

Default Need Help with M1 Helmet Liner!

Hi guys I'm a complete newbie with military relics. Today I went to a respected Military antiques store in Toronto and bought an M1 helmet and liner supposed to be vietnam era. The shell is supposed to be Navy(painted grey)

My main concern is the liner. I looks like fibreglass at first glance but upon close inspection of the edges where it has worn away it looks kinda like cardboard! The inside has a raised stamp with US 12 in the crown. Has anyone ever seen a M1 liner stamp with "US 12" in it? I couldn't find any other markings in the liner. The headband has some printed markings but cant make them out. The nape strap has markings but someone used black marker over it. I can faintly see the printed markings. Notice the closeup of the chip on the edge and that liner stamp. Any help on this would be greatly appreciated. Is this a real Vietnam era M1 liner?
    Need Help with M1 Helmet Liner!Need Help with M1 Helmet Liner!Need Help with M1 Helmet Liner!Need Help with M1 Helmet Liner!Need Help with M1 Helmet Liner!Need Help with M1 Helmet Liner!Need Help with M1 Helmet Liner!Need Help with M1 Helmet Liner!

At first look it appears to be consistent with a real Vietnam or later helmet liner. Markings and suspension look fine to me.

Quote by Red Devil View Post
    At first look it appears to be consistent with a real Vietnam or later helmet liner. Markings and suspension look fine to me.