Marna Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Observer Corps "Tommy Helmet"

Article about: Hello chaps, what do you make of this one? It is being sold as a unit marked Royal Observer Corps helmet. Now I will firstly admit that I am no expert on unit markings but I was in the ROC!

Ah, now I see that both are in the same position relative to the lug rivets and are filled with miss matched rivets. In which case then perhaps it was just filled in by the owner to hide the rivet holes as a personal choice, which I have seen done before. do they have the same paint on them as the rest of the helmet or have they been painted over? Or does all of it have an overpaint? Sorry but your pics are not the sharpest mate. Have you tried a magnet on it?
    Regards,

Jerry

Whatever its just an opinion.

Quote by Anon View Post
    Ah, now I see that both are in the same position relative to the lug rivets and are filled with miss matched rivets. In which case then perhaps it was just filled in by the owner to hide the rivet holes as a personal choice, which I have seen done before. do they have the same paint on them as the rest of the helmet or have they been painted over? Or does all of it have an overpaint? Sorry but your pics are not the sharpest mate. Have you tried a magnet on it?
    The paint is of the same layer that the rest of the helmet is covered in, also the "extra" rivets have the original black paint underneath the Tan. I would guess the rivets were put into the "holes" at an early stage. I have tried to take a couple more images for you Jerry, but I think I have failed my "David Bailey" seal of quality!! Oh and it's not magnetic!! Leon.
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Observer Corps "Tommy Helmet"   Observer Corps "Tommy Helmet"  

?

Default OC Helmet