Marna Militaria - Top
Display your banner here

Question about what should have been a 'junk' M1 helmet.

Article about: I bought an M1 helmet for cheap on eBay with the idea of re-corking and repainting it to look like new issue. I'm new to the idea of restoring, and wanted something to practice with. When it

?

Default Question about what should have been a 'junk' M1 helmet.

I bought an M1 helmet for cheap on eBay with the idea of re-corking and repainting it to look like new issue. I'm new to the idea of restoring, and wanted something to practice with. When it arrived, and I started to clean it up a little, it appears to be a Schlueter with a front seam, and a steel (not stainless) rim. I had thought that the steel rim and rear seam happened at the same time. Is this something I just need to leave alone and respect the history, or is it a candidate for experimentation as a 'junk' helmet. I'm still learning.Question about what should have been a 'junk' M1 helmet.Question about what should have been a 'junk' M1 helmet.
    Regards,
    Greg

(note to self to figure out why it keeps rotating images 90 degrees.)

MAP
    ?

It looks mighty fine the way it is to me. I would never touch it. It looks to be in decent shape.

Note: I'm looking at this from a small cell phone so happy to be proven wrong.

Can you give is better shots of the webbing and bales.
    "Please", Thank You" and proper manners appreciated

My greatest fear is that one day I will die and my wife will sell my guns for what I told her I paid for them

"Don't tell me these are investments if you never intend to sell anything" (Quote: Wife)

The steel rim was introduced in Oct of 44 and the rear seam was introduced in Nov of 44.
    Nice find, I would leave it alone and Great eye concerning the seam and the rim, I believe you have a helmet that was manufactured at the end and beginning of a change over.

Marty
    Fortune favors the brave 644th td