Damn Yankee - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Signs of a fake Brodie?

Article about: Hi all, I am relatively new to helmet collecting and I have gone with Civil Defence helmets and I am wondering is there really fake Brodies about?? I know there are lots fake German helmets

Default Signs of a fake Brodie?

Hi all, I am relatively new to helmet collecting and I have gone with Civil Defence helmets and I am wondering is there really fake Brodies about?? I know there are lots fake German helmets but I never thought about fake Brodies.

What are the signs of a fake?

Many Thanks,
    Tom

?

There isn’t many fake helmets I would assume . But there is a lot of helmets that get repainted To fool you. It could be post war helmets made to look like civil defence helmets or army. Or even civil defence helmets painted to look like army helmets. Some army helmets get “upgraded” with fake flashes

Here is my own example of a fake ARP helmet I bought and stripped back the paint to reveal a post war Belgium helmet
    Saving a Belgium mark 2 helmet

Nice discovery, I’m surprised the decal survived under the black paint

There are, but reproduction shells are usually fairly obvious. It is far more common to encounter genuine helmets with fake embellishments such as flashes for rare or prestigious units. When it comes to Home Front helmets, there are plenty with fake lettering hanging about. Usually it's pretty easy to identify them, as the painted letters will show a good deal less wear and tear and patina than the rest of the helmet. In effect, they look 'new' in comparison to the rest of the lid.

One way to identify this is to look at scratches and rust close to the lettering. If the paint passes over these, it is likely it was added postwar. Case in point; my senior warden's helmet here. Note the gouges in the paint, and the way they pass through the 'W' rather than under it.

Signs of a fake Brodie?