Marna Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Demyansk

Article about: Just bought the Demjansk book and while it is a good 'starter' I thought that it was slightly spoiled by also covering Cholm, so while you could say that you get 2 for the price of 1, by cov

Default Demyansk

Just read this book from the excellent Osprey series. I was of course aware of the Demyansk pocket but hey, what a battle !!!

I recommend this as a starter book on this, imo, 'decisive battle'

Nick
    Attached Images Attached Images Demyansk 
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Demyansk
    P
    Many

Default Re: Demyansk

Sounds like a good read Woolgar. I will look for it as I like to read a book on individual battles. Have a couple on my Christmas list and if a truly good read will inform forum members.

I'll look that one up, Nick. I like these books on battles. I have one on the Cherkassy pocket which was pretty good as well. A wealth of details!

?

Yesterday i just read a book written by one of the many Danish volunteers that fought there. Obersturmbannführer K B Martinsen. I'm Danish A friend from our forum (thanks Shadwellarmy0 sent me the book. That must have been crazy fighting there. K B M is writing about fighting as close as 25 meters!

Regards, Lars

Quote by Datrus View Post
    Yesterday i just read a book written by one of the many Danish volunteers that fought there. Obersturmbannführer K B Martinsen. I'm Danish A friend from our forum (thanks Shadwellarmy0 sent me the book. That must have been crazy fighting there. K B M is writing about fighting as close as 25 meters!

Regards, Lars
    Yes Lars they really did! The casualties on both sides were incredible!

German
    48,000 killed
    140,000 wounded

Russian
    200,000 killed
    400,000 wounded

Nick