Great Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Moscow 1941

Article about: I have just started to read Rodric Braithwaite's book. I was wondering if anyone has any photos etc on the battle for Moscow they could post. I would paticularly like any info on the bombing

Default Moscow 1941

I have just started to read Rodric Braithwaite's book.

I was wondering if anyone has any photos etc on the battle for Moscow they could post.

I would paticularly like any info on the bombing raids or any stories you know about.

Thanks guys

Nick
    Attached Images Attached Images Moscow 1941 
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Moscow 1941
    P
    Many

Default Re: Moscow 1941

Just found this interesting info:

"The first raid directly to Moscow (22 July 1941) - 195 He111s, 6-22 were shot down over Moscow by fighters (different sources). Germans dropped 100 t high-explosive and 45000 fiery bombs directly on Moscow and its suburbs. 23 July 1941 (second raid) - 115-150 He111s (different sources), 24 July 1941 - 100-180 He111s (again different data).
    Damage of Moscow during the first raid - 1900 fires in the city (several food storehouses and many shops were burned down), explosion of the train with ammunition on the central rail road station; near 300 fiery bombs and 15 high-explosion bombs were dropped on Kremlin. 40-50 Kremlin garrison soldiers and officers were killed during the extinguishing. I found one mention that heavy high-explosion bomb was exploded just near the Kremlin wall, but very thick fortress wall (XV century) was only slightly damaged. The losses of civilians - 23 July 1941: 325 wounded, 31 killed. Many civilians helped fire companies. 24 July 1941 the 500kg bombs destroyed one of the theater, the building of the Soviet Academy of Science.