Become our sponsor and display your banner here
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Third Reich in Ruins (Then and Now pics)

Article about: Third Reich in Ruins Here is a site i've been visiting for quite a long time! It has pictures of famous Reich's buildings from back then and their condision now! The famous Then & Now co

It's been on my favourites for years ! Fascinating

Nick
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

great site.

John
    I specialize in M1 carbines and Lugers.

Stumbled upon that site some time ago and have revisited often. Always reminds me that I want to make a trip one day.

When I was a youngster growing up in Germany, I used to keep a sharp look-out for such remnants of the past...Nazi Slogans painted on houses in Mannheim (still readable despite all efforts to white-wash them!), Arrows with "LSR" painted on walls indicating the nearest air raid shelter, Eagles here and there with the Swastikas removed/replaced, the concrete remains of the Flak-emplacements outside of Mannheim, and many more similar examples...including several of these eagles at our local soccer-field in Lampertheim, where the Hakenkreuz was replaced with the town's coat-of-arms...In addition, every community has a memorial for its fallen soldiers, here is the one in Lampertheim, my mother's hometown and where I grew up as a youngster...
    cheers, Glenn
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Click image for larger version. 

Name:	denkmal.jpg 
Views:	1925 
Size:	233.0 KB 
ID:	744980  
    Attached Images Attached Images  

I'll take photos of the left... beautiful!!
    this is a beauty... see the Flak 88 ammo !!!

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	flakturm12cmBA.jpg 
Views:	203 
Size:	25.3 KB 
ID:	745827

?

yes, a very good site with many, varied site pics