Great Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Stalin's 'Railway to Nowhere'.

Article about: Agreed. To what i've read Stalin's victims in general were around 30 million, whilst wikipedia lists from 3 to 60 million. I guess we will never know an exact number.

?

Default Stalin's 'Railway to Nowhere'.

Found this article and thought I would post it for interest:

Joseph Stalin's deadly railway to nowhere.

Looking for LDO marked EK2s and items relating to U-406.....

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Stalin's 'Railway to Nowhere'.
    P
    Many

Default Re: Stalin's 'Railway to Nowhere'.

A Fascinating article ! The Soviet version of the Burma 'Death Railway' but with an extreme in climate !

Nadezhda was a pretty young girl , how sad that she experienced that horror

Nick
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

Hi

Very intresting but incredibly sad.

Thanks for showing Adrian!

Thanks

Cameron

For those interested in the Gulags and the human nature to survive in these conditions, I'd highly recommend Kolyma Tales by Varlam Shalamov. The book opens with an introduction stating the envy one has with those starting to read the book and I wholly agree. Its one of those books that will enlighten and stay with you.

Regards

John

Alexander Solzhenitsyn has also some very nice books about this horrible topic. For those of you who can understand Russian there are audio books available on youtube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wpmtStcHtg0

Quote by Adrian View Post
    Found this article and thought I would post it for interest:

Joseph Stalin's deadly railway to nowhere.
    Thanks for sharing this Adrian.
    I will send the link to some communist friends who claim that Hitler was a devil but Stalin was a good person.
    Looking for the photo albums of Leutnant Emil Freitag, 3. / G.R. 377