Espenlaub Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

1915 Pickelhaube

Article about: Hi there, new member and have been searching for a like minded group to post questions to for a couple of years now. I have been collecting for several years although drifted from relics at

Default 1915 Pickelhaube

Hi there, new member and have been searching for a like minded group to post questions to for a couple of years now.
    I have been collecting for several years although drifted from relics at the outset to better quality items as my interest in WW1 has grown.
    I have loads of questions but will contain myself.
    I have a 1915 Pickelhaube that I have some puzzling questions over. I picked it up from UK Militaria on-line shop last year and I have been struggling to find the missing pieces, or to establish what they are. I have no cockades or strap.
    The helmet has a blackened front metal visor trim, but nothing on the back. I can't see any holes in the body to show that there ever was a metal trim to the back visor piece, is this normal?
    My second query is related to the cockade and strap issue. The posts on both sides have no teeth present. I first thought that these had been removed, but on looking more closely the posts would appear to have threading to them indicating that the post may have been of two parts, again is this normal?
    I have tried in vain to find the correct cockades but cannot seem to find them that a) have the right size centre holes to go over the posts b) flat enough to allow them to sit on the side of the helmet (even though I cannot fix them as the post issue prevent this)
    I am assuming that the cockade sits on the post and the strap holds it in place by sitting behind the tooth?
    Any help or advice would be very much appreciated. 1915 Pickelhaube1915 Pickelhaube

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement 1915 Pickelhaube
    P
    Many

Default Re: 1915 Pickelhaube