Rg-militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Pickelhaube liner preservation

Article about: Any suggestions on how to keep my EM pickelhaube liner from disintegrating? Will hairspray keep it together? Any ideas?

?

Default Pickelhaube liner preservation

Any suggestions on how to keep my EM pickelhaube liner from disintegrating? Will hairspray keep it together? Any ideas?

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Pickelhaube liner preservation
    P
    Many

Default Re: Pickelhaube liner preservation

Do nothing. Sadly once leather starts to age badly, nothing can be one.

Cheers, Ade.

Actually I beg to politely disagree... I am relatively new to collecting militaria, but have been collecting rare books and manuscripts for over 15 years. I have many books dating from early 16th century to the modern era, and surprisingly enough, the ones that hold out the worst are the late 18th and early 19th century leather bound volumes. I have books dated to the 1500's on calfskin vellum that have solid bindings you can open up 500 times a day and not a crack, but the tanned leather that started being used during the industrial revolutions holds up poorly.. if not taken care.. Every year I spend a day after the winter carefully oiling all my leather books with "neetsfoot" oil.. most commonly used as kids for softening up baseball gloves.. a few really rare books I oil twice a year. anyway, for the books I maintain, and even some drier ones I restored, as well as my now growing helmet collection liners.. I use this oil and it can stop aging if done once a year, and reverse some of the past damage done, but not all.