Combat-relics.com - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

SM U-35 Submarine

Article about: I am currently trying to put together information on this submarine ,when she was under the command of Lothar Von Arnauld de La Periere. There are are number of conflicting images on the net

Default Re: SM U-35 Submarine

Quote by Hagen View Post
    I agree with that statement, the German surface fleet in both World Wars were pretty much ineffective and for the most part stayed in ports, putting the brunt of the battle of the Atlantic squarely on the backs of the U-boat arm.
    I believe in WW1 they were more affective ?? I am no expert on this, I am becoming more interested. Because of the U-Boat successes in WW1, the TR expected too much later on in WW2 ?

Quote by Hagen View Post
    I took a tour of the US submarine Torsk at Baltimore Harbor, you wouldn't find me on one either. And the WW1 boats were worse.
    The Torsk, thats interesting. Modern day Subs are not much better, you would be surprised !

Both Totenhead and Hagen have raised the issue of unattainable expectations as the reason the U-Boats failed to force Britain into a negotiated peace. Over-expectation was certainly an important reason for the failure, as was the Germans' perceived need to avoid war with the United States, which led them to conduct the commercial war under the so-called Prize Regulations and produced a command rift over the question of conducting unrestricted submarine warfare But over-expectations and command indecision are only a part of the explanation for the U-boats' failure to achieve victory. The success of British radio intelligence and Germany's inferior industrial capacity were equally important.