Great Militaria - Top
Display your banner here

Arisaka bayonets

Article about: Hi folks, Picked up two Japanese bayonets - one with a frog. The one with the curved quillon appears to be earlier and the other a later model. I'm new to Japanese collecting and would kindl

Default Arisaka bayonets

Hi folks, Picked up two Japanese bayonets - one with a frog. The one with the curved quillon appears to be earlier and the other a later model. I'm new to Japanese collecting and would kindly accept any comments on these examples. I paid $140 for the older and $125 for the later model with frog. I'm guessing the price for the older one was a little high and older example was in the bargain area. Neil H.
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Arisaka bayonets   Arisaka bayonets  

Arisaka bayonets  

Default Re: Arisaka bayonets

Correction - paid $140 for the EARLY model and $125 for the LATER model with frog.

The price on Type 30 bayonets can be high depending on what arsenal they were made at and of course the condtion.Also, you can use the serial #'s to find a date range for production of the piece.There were many variations that can also affect the value.Personally, I have never paid over $100 for one and even then, I think it may have been priced too high.Typically I think reenactors are getting decent ones around the $60-$85 range but, you know, it always seems that folks are of varying opinions on value. But, don't fret because it looks like you paid that price because the one came with an original bayonet frog!Ifthat's the case then you made out good.
    Also,if you can show the arsenal markings in a closeup photo we may be able to find out where they were made.
    Eric