Genuine WW2 Japanese Tanto?

Article about: I recently aqquired this little piece (not for too much) off of an auction site. I am not an expert on Japanese edged weapons & so I am not sure what to look for to tell if it is a genui

?

Question Genuine WW2 Japanese Tanto?

I recently aqquired this little piece (not for too much) off of an auction site. I am not an expert on Japanese edged weapons & so I am not sure what to look for to tell if it is a genuine WW2 item or not, help would be appreciated!
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image1.jpg 
Views:	136 
Size:	303.7 KB 
ID:	994337   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image2.jpg 
Views:	268 
Size:	281.3 KB 
ID:	994338  

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image4.jpg 
Views:	104 
Size:	309.5 KB 
ID:	994339   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image3.jpg 
Views:	107 
Size:	329.7 KB 
ID:	994340  

It appears to be the type of tanto sold for shrine gifts. It is not a blade of great age and possibly is stainless steel.
    BOB

LIFE'S LOSERS NEVER LEARN FROM THE ERROR OF THEIR WAYS.

?

Is there no chance it could of WW2 origin - in which an officer/soldier (whoever) had it from his private life, rather than military?

?

Civil purchase, IMO. But its not a tanto, since it dosnt have a guard and its not in koshirae, but in shirasaya.

Tanto is the name of the mounts and size.

The knife is ww2.

Quote by FinMC View Post
    Is there no chance it could of WW2 origin - in which an officer/soldier (whoever) had it from his private life, rather than military?
    There is no way to tell.
    BOB

LIFE'S LOSERS NEVER LEARN FROM THE ERROR OF THEIR WAYS.