Wardmilitaria - Top
Display your banner here

Genuine WW2 Japanese Tanto?

Article about: I recently aqquired this little piece (not for too much) off of an auction site. I am not an expert on Japanese edged weapons & so I am not sure what to look for to tell if it is a genui

?

Question Genuine WW2 Japanese Tanto?

I recently aqquired this little piece (not for too much) off of an auction site. I am not an expert on Japanese edged weapons & so I am not sure what to look for to tell if it is a genuine WW2 item or not, help would be appreciated!
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Genuine WW2 Japanese Tanto?   Genuine WW2 Japanese Tanto?  

Genuine WW2 Japanese Tanto?   Genuine WW2 Japanese Tanto?  

It appears to be the type of tanto sold for shrine gifts. It is not a blade of great age and possibly is stainless steel.
    BOB

LIFE'S LOSERS NEVER LEARN FROM THE ERROR OF THEIR WAYS.

?

Is there no chance it could of WW2 origin - in which an officer/soldier (whoever) had it from his private life, rather than military?

?

Civil purchase, IMO. But its not a tanto, since it dosnt have a guard and its not in koshirae, but in shirasaya.

Tanto is the name of the mounts and size.

The knife is ww2.

Quote by FinMC View Post
    Is there no chance it could of WW2 origin - in which an officer/soldier (whoever) had it from his private life, rather than military?
    There is no way to tell.
    BOB

LIFE'S LOSERS NEVER LEARN FROM THE ERROR OF THEIR WAYS.

It has the look of one of those post war crafted tantos made from chopped up gunto. I'm reading a book now, in which the author interviewed a swordsmith fron the war who collected 2 tons of chopped up blades, kept them under his house, and made tanto, knives, etc. Smiths had a very hard time after the war just trying to make a living, so this is one way this gentleman found to survive.

Quote by Bruce Pennington View Post