Militaria-Reisig & Antiquitäten - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Japanese paybook?

Article about: Hi there everyone, I'm a newbie here but I'm hoping someone could help me. I've been going through a box of some of my grandad's old medals and things and I came across a Japanese booklet. F

Default Japanese paybook?

Hi there everyone, I'm a newbie here but I'm hoping someone could help me.

I've been going through a box of some of my grandad's old medals and things and I came across a Japanese booklet. From the research I've done the closest I've found is a Japanese paybook, but the front cover is a bit different, it has more characters on it and there's also a mirror inside, which might be an addition.

My grandad would never talk about his time in the UK Navy so I really have no background on where this came from or when it came into his possession, or perhaps it came from my great-grandad, I really have no idea so any information would be gratefully appreciated.

I hope its OK to post this here. Japanese paybook?Japanese paybook?Japanese paybook?Japanese paybook?Japanese paybook?

?

It is indeed a ww2 Japanese army paybook (Guntaitecho) all IJA soldiers were issued one. It included basic information on the soldier: name, DOB, address, superior/sub unit ID info., as well as his history with the unit he was in, unit transfers, unit movement, hospitalizations, battle participation, promotions. Although there is a section that includes pay entries, a lot of other information was entered.

You also appear to have a soldier's personal affects bag, it does not look like a official issue as there is no pattern or kanji on it (maybe field made), this would have been used by a soldier to carry personal effects like the paybook, photographs and awards issued to them.

You also have a rank patch which looks like the type that would have been worn on the shirt pocket, it indicates the rank of superior private.

?