Wardmilitaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Japanese Sword

Article about: Hello all, I bought this sword about a year ago and i am just now getting around to taking some pictures. I have little knowledge in the area and was hoping someone could help me out. The ti

?

Default Re: Japanese Sword

Looking back over the kanji I think Guy will be able to translate them from what is there.

Regards,
    Stu

?

Stu,

Thank you VERY much for the response. I really appreciate the information. I have loved japanese militaria since I started collecting, but have yet to add many pieces. This is one of my big pieces for my Japanese collection. I will save the links to the websites you provided so I can start learning for myself. I hope that Bob can help shed some more light on the sword. I am very eager to hear what he has to say. Again, thank you so much for the help!

?

Bob will be the one to comment on any possible damage to the boshi. The boshi is the hamon pattern on the tip or kissaki on Japanese swords. My eyes are not good enough to tell from that photo if it's fatally damaged or if it's repairable. Can you advise if the tip of the sword has been broken off through the boshi or did it break ahead of that point leaving it intact?

I happen to know Bob is spending some quality time with an old friend from the Nihonto world this evening so he may not get around to the thread till tomorrow but his opinion will be worth waiting for I am sure.

Regards,
    Stu

?

Here's a link to some photos depicting boshi.

Boshi

Regards,
    Stu

?

I believe that the tip broke off before the boshi. I have attached a zoomed in photo of the broken tip. The photo is a little blurry but I believe it shows the break and the fact that it breaks before the boshi.
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Japanese Sword  

?

Hi Doug,