Marna Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast

Need Help with my grandfather's Shin Gunto sword

Article about: (Sorry for the Re-post) Hi Guys, this is my first post of what I hope to be many more. I am an English teacher in Korea and I since living abroad I've become very interested in all things WW

?

Default Re: Need Help with my grandfather's Shin Gunto sword

I HATE WHEN THIS HAPPENS ... my earlier comment;

"It was mentioned along the way that the single hanger denotes a Kai-gunto as opposed to a Shin-gunto."

It should have read denotes a "Shin-gunto as opposed to a Kai-gunto".

... and as to your comment Andrew about how many are out there the number is no doubt in the thousands but not nearly as many as were initially produced as a rather substantial number ended up on the bottom of the Pacific Ocean along with about 85% of the Japanese fleet or so I have read.

Any decent shape Kai-gunto will fetch a couple grand these days. Those with high quality blades much more but they are few and far between.

Regards,
    Stu

?

Hi Andrew,

I have a few more minutes so thought I'd add a couple more random comments.

In post #38 above Bob mentions the importance of keeping the disassembled parts in order so as to enable a smooth assembly when finished with your examination of the nakago. If you have a digital camera I suggest you take photos of the before, during and after phase of the dismantling process. You could also make notes to yourself as you go along. Seppas in a pile all tend to look the same to the uninitiated so a photo or a note to oneself indicating which came off first and which side was the front or back will aid in correctly orienting the parts prior to assembly later.