Militaria-Reisig & Antiquitäten - Top
Display your banner here

Real or Reproduction? Two Samurai Katanas

Article about: Hey everyone, My buddy and i went to a gunshow this past weekend, and he got a couple of nice Katanas. I'm not a sword expert, and he's a little concerned that the swords he was told to be a

Default Real or Reproduction? Two Samurai Katanas

Hey everyone,

My buddy and i went to a gunshow this past weekend, and he got a couple of nice Katanas. I'm not a sword expert, and he's a little concerned that the swords he was told to be authentic are in fact reproductions. Would anyone with sword expertise be able to helpe me out in figuring out the authenticity of these swords? Thank you all in advance

Alex

Real or Reproduction?  Two Samurai KatanasReal or Reproduction?  Two Samurai KatanasReal or Reproduction?  Two Samurai KatanasReal or Reproduction?  Two Samurai KatanasReal or Reproduction?  Two Samurai KatanasReal or Reproduction?  Two Samurai Katanas

?

Default Re: Real or Reproduction? Two Samurai Katanas

Even with the terrible pictures it is easy to tell they are Chinese fakes.

Quote by SteveR View Post
    Even with the terrible pictures it is easy to tell they are Chinese fakes.
    Chop Fooey....???
    'I do not think we can hope for any better thing now.
    We shall stick it out to the end, but we are getting weaker of course, and the end cannot be far.
    It seems a pity, but I do not think I can write more. R. SCOTT.
    Last Entry - For God's sake look after our people.'

In memory of Capt. Robert Falcon Scott, Edward Wilson, Henry Bowers, Lawrence Oates and Edgar Evans. South Pole Expedition, 30th March 1912.

I have had a similar Katana laying around for over 20 years.They may not be Chineese made but they are certainly not WW2 Japanese.
    I wouldn't call them fake as they were never ment to be copies of anything.They are what they are,A cheap modern built sword.
    Cheers
    Dave