Combat-relics.com - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Type 95 NCO sword

Article about: I am posting this sword for a older gentleman in my Men’s Bible study. The sword was brought home by his wife’s father. He may sell it so I told him I would try to get all the information I

Default Type 95 NCO sword

I am posting this sword for a older gentleman in my Men’s Bible study. The sword was brought home by his wife’s father. He may sell it so I told him I would try to get all the information I could about the sword so he could make an educated decision as to selling it or not.
    I do know it is an all matching sword made by Iijima at the Tokyo arsenal. The handle is aluminum with top lock, I believe it was made in the late 30’s to early 40’s. The scabbard I believed was repainted but the more I studied the scabbard and the wear and also the internet about black scabbards I believe it to be period done.
    Any help or correction would be helpful.

Thanks,
    Marty
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Type 95 NCO sword   Type 95 NCO sword  

Type 95 NCO sword   Type 95 NCO sword  

Type 95 NCO sword  
    Fortune favors the brave 644th td

Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Type 95 NCO sword   Type 95 NCO sword  

?

Hi Marty!
    I’m certainly no expert when it comes to these things (I’m still looking for a good, honest one myself), but I believe the simple Tsuba and relatively high serial number would indicate a late-war production.
    A very nice and interesting sword and thanks for the link... further evidence for the ongoing debate over black painted equipment and field camouflage!

All the very best,
    Bob

Quote by Kohima View Post
    Hi Marty!
    I’m certainly no expert when it comes to these things (I’m still looking for a good, honest one myself), but I believe the simple Tsuba and relatively high serial number would indicate a late-war production.