Militaria-Reisig & Antiquitäten - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

WW2 Japanese swords

Article about: Apologies if this is being posted in the wrong section, but I am looking to expand my collection of WW2 militaria to include some Japanese items. One of these would be an officer or NCO swor

?

Default WW2 Japanese swords

Apologies if this is being posted in the wrong section, but I am looking to expand my collection of WW2 militaria to include some Japanese items. One of these would be an officer or NCO sword. But as this is an area that I have little knowledge about I wanted to get some guidance from those more knowledgable than me on this forum first

I am not looking for a crazy price 16th century family sword used by an officer in WW2 etc. in fact my price point is lower end, and I seem to have a choice between hand made swords used any officers or slightly cheaper factory made NCO swords. My preference is actually drawn to the factory swords because as historical WW2 artefacts they actually fit in with my collection of other items (i..e mass produced items like bayonets, helmets etc). I understand some people would sniff at this and rather look at the hand made swords first, but I am doing this more as a WW2 collector than a sword enthusiast.

So my question for those of more in the know on these items is whether I have got my bearings right here and the factory swords are sought after and collectable, or should I be looking more at the hand crafted jobbies?

All feedback appreciated, thanks.

Check out the sticky threads in here, Stu started a very informative thread on the Type 95 NCO sword

MAP
    ?

Nothing wrong with your logic. A nice condition NCO sword is a great historical piece from WW2.

Just be sure to do your HW and post it for opinions first.
    "Please", Thank You" and proper manners appreciated

My greatest fear is that one day I will die and my wife will sell my guns for what I told her I paid for them