Great Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

WW2 Samurai Sword Katana Help!!

Article about: Hi, Just picked up this Sword. I am a newbie at swords, this is my 3rd Samurai Sword and first Katana. The blade is unmarked. I found a few near exact swords on Ebay (Does this have military

Default WW2 Samurai Sword Katana Help!!

Hi,

Just picked up this Sword. I am a newbie at swords, this is my 3rd Samurai Sword and first Katana. The blade is unmarked. I found a few near exact swords on Ebay (Does this have military mounts?). Were WW2 swords all made to similar specs? Any info is appreciated. Only real problem is the wrapping on the handle is torn in one spot. Any way to identify the maker? If you need any more pics or anything please let me know.

Thanks,
    Phil

WW2 Samurai Sword Katana Help!!WW2 Samurai Sword Katana Help!!WW2 Samurai Sword Katana Help!!WW2 Samurai Sword Katana Help!!WW2 Samurai Sword Katana Help!!WW2 Samurai Sword Katana Help!!WW2 Samurai Sword Katana Help!!

It is a Type-98 officer's sword; yes, the handle and scabbard are "military mounts." Can't tell if it is a "samurai sword" [pre-1876] unless you take off the handle and post a photo of the tang. Orient the image in a vertical position like this one:

By the way, you say this is your "3rd Samurai Sword and first Katana" .... what other types of swords do you have? "Katana" is the Japanese word for sword; strictly speaking, a gunto [military sword] is a katana. I think we may have to have a look at your other swords to let you know what you actually have -- nomenclature-wise.

--Guy

Looks nice... Showah blade?

Here are some more pics... sorry it took a while. The other blades I have are Wakizashis. I thought Katana was the term for the longer blades.

WW2 Samurai Sword Katana Help!!WW2 Samurai Sword Katana Help!!

Quote by behlftball View Post
    ....The other blades I have are Wakizashis. I thought Katana was the term for the longer blades. ...