Lakesidetrader - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast

WW2 Toshimasa gunto

Article about: So here is my very first Japanese sword : a gunto made by Toshimasa (敏正), a Seki swordsmith, in 1940 (二千六百年, that is 2600). Of course, it is

?

Default WW2 Toshimasa gunto

So here is my very first Japanese sword : a gunto made by Toshimasa (敏正), a Seki swordsmith, in 1940 (二千六百年, that is 2600).

Of course, it is far from being the most beautiful gunto ever produced, but, to me, it is both pleasant to look at and full of history, which are the reasons why I wanted to have it in the first place.

There are no cherry blossoms on the kabuto gane - is that coherent with a 1940-dated (and -mounted?) blade?

An early Edo Aizu Shoami tsuba? I am no expert, so I would be interested to know your opinion.

It was suggested that Yokota could be the name of the polisher, but I would tend to think that this was the original owner's name.

J. R. Young is logically the name of the US serviceman who "appropriated" this gunto and brought it back home with him.
    Last edited by Didier; 12-02-2018 at 06:51 PM.

Not bad for a first sword. You did your homework.

?

Quote by Sporter90 View Post
    Not bad for a first sword. You did your homework.
    My aim was to find a first (and affordable) sword to study. When I know more, maybe I will move on to something more "high-end".

?

Deleted.
    Last edited by Didier; 12-03-2018 at 06:37 PM.

?

Great sword , only the tsuba is strange for a 1940 type 98 sword, tassel is for company grade officer

Nice gunto, Didier, with cool history and personality. The kabuto gane is puzzling. I can't remember seeing one without the blossoms and leaves, but it's clearly legit and well made.

?