Lakesidetrader - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

WWII Japanese Flag

Article about: Hi guys, my collecting disease is spreading and I am interested in buying a Japanese flag for my collection. I am an extreme novice when it comes to these so I appreciate any help. Id be tha

Default WWII Japanese Flag

Hi guys, my collecting disease is spreading and I am interested in buying a Japanese flag for my collection. I am an extreme novice when it comes to these so I appreciate any help. Id be thankful if someone can tell me if this flag is a WWII genuine example and if its possible to have it translated.

Thank you,
    John
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture WWII Japanese Flag   WWII Japanese Flag  

?

Looks ok to me. Has the common 武運長久 "Good fortune in battle", and the name of the soldier on the right, some signatures at the bottom, and 義勇奉公 "Serve the nation with loyalty and courage" on the left. Red shrine stamp. You'll need someone more fluent to read the names for you.

為塚本初義君
    Tame Tsukamoto Hatsuyoshi kun
    For Mr. Tsukamoto Hatsuyoshi

Shrine stamp:
    白山宮印
    Hakusan-Gū [no] In
    Hakusan Shrine Seal

Possibly this one: Hakusangu Shrine, Nisshin City, Aichi, Japan [about 10 miles east of Nagoya City center]

It looks like this on your flag, reads from right to left:
    宮白
    印山

--Guy

Regarding the dedication lead kanji .

I do not know how is pronounced when it is the lead kanji in a dedication. The normal reading is "tame" [tah-may] and means "for; for the sake of; etc." Like 子供のに "kodomo no tame ni" for the sake of the children.

According to Wictionary, 為 has various readings, and I'm not certain that "tame" would be correct as a stand-alone kanji.

Readings
    Wu Chinese reading: い (i, Jōyō)←ゐ (wi, historical)
    Tang Chinese reading: い (i, Jōyō)←ゐ (wi, historical)