Combat-relics.com - Top
Display your banner here

Need Info Please re: 1935 combat bayonet S/185 G

Article about: Hello everyone -- I have a 1935 combat bayonet marked S/185 G on one side and marked 1494 D on the opposite side. The scabbard that it is housed in has the same numbers engraved on it as wel

britestar01876
    ?

Question Need Info Please re: 1935 combat bayonet S/185 G

Hello everyone --
    I have a 1935 combat bayonet marked S/185 G on one side and marked 1494 D on the opposite side. The scabbard that it is housed in has the same numbers engraved on it as well. The bayonet & scabbard fit into its leather frog that also has numbers/letters engraved on the back but these are a bit worn out. On the frog, the only part I can definitely read is "6A"... the other preceding letters could be an "Hc" or maybe "Hr". I came upon this website as I was searching thru GOOGLE to see if I could find out any information about this WWII item that my Dad brought back with him. He was a radio operator and machine gunner in a B17F while in the U.S.A.A.F. and on April 17, 1943 his plane was shot down in Bremen, Germany. He was captured in the woods near Ottenburg, Germany and became a POW in Stalag VIIA in Mooseburg, Germany from April 17, 1943 to Oct. 12, 1943; and then a POW in Stalag XVII B in Krems, Austria from Nov. 1943 to April, 1945. Unfortunately, I did not know any of this information until my father passed away when I came across all his papers, this bayonet, and some war medals. He never spoke of the war, while I was growing up, and I was too young and naive to even ask about it. I don't know what significance this particular weapon has, whether it was his, or a german soldier's. Maybe you could let me know just how these were used and the value, if any. I thank you for your time. Take good care.

2. # ADS

Default Re: Need Info Please re: 1935 combat bayonet S/185 G

This sounds like the standard German WW2 bayonet known as the Seitengewehr 84-98.