Damn Yankee - Top
Display your banner here

SS Panzer Division Etched Bayonet K98

Article about: Hi all, I'm hoping you can assist. I inherited a bayonet from my grand father 30 years ago and I've only just got around to researching it's history. I have attempted to review each element

Default SS Panzer Division Etched Bayonet K98

Hi all, I'm hoping you can assist. I inherited a bayonet from my grand father 30 years ago and I've only just got around to researching it's history. I have attempted to review each element below. I collect antique pocket knives and this is my first attempt at military research. I'd be pleased to be corrected, advised if this is potentially a post-war refurb, what the 68 represents and if possible an opinion of value (never for sale).

SS Panzer Division Etched Bayonet K98SS Panzer Division Etched Bayonet K98SS Panzer Division Etched Bayonet K98SS Panzer Division Etched Bayonet K98SS Panzer Division Etched Bayonet K98

1938 German Dress Bayonet, Scabbard, Frog and Portepee

Bayonet; Seitengewehr (Side Arm) compatible with the Mauser K98, Rifle of the Third Reich.
    Known as 84/98 or S.84/98 or most popularly as the K98 Bayonet
    10” blade heavily etched with Panzer Division 3, Totenkopf SS (Skull SS), Meine ehre heihttreve (My Honor Is Faithfulness).
    Marked with the Manufacturer; E.u.F. Horster. Manufactured in Solingen Germany
    Serial No. 2756
    Year marking; 38 (1938)
    Makers Mark; V
    As the war progressed, manufactures names were not placed on weapons so as not to not reveal to the Allies the location of German centres of Industry. A secret code was used in lieu. This bayonet has an example of manufacturing code on the underside of the guard.
    Secret manufactures code; WaA257 topped with an eagle.
    Unknown marking; There is a 68 stamped at the head of the pommel (The channel where the bayonet attaches to the rifle).