Located near Weiden, and around 40 miles east of Nürnberg, Konzentrationslager Flossenbürg is nestled into the forested hillside of a typical Bavarian setting. The camp however, was anything but idyllic, with an estimated 28,000 victims during its period of existence. Opened in spring 1938, the camp eventually became the fourth largest Konzentrationslager within Nazi Germany. Almost seven years after its inception, the first evacuations began late in April 1945.
Jacob Weiseborn, Egon Zill, Karl Fritsch, Max Koegel and Karl Künster all held the position of Kommandant, and managed a complement of up to 3,000 staff, many of whom were SS-Aufseherinnen (female guards/wardens), such as Gertrud Becker, an Oberaufseherin who died in 1990 awaiting prosecution for murdering prisoners on a "death march", and Hildegard Pasler, Erstaufseherin of a Strafkommando (First Overseer of a Punishment Detail).
Major sub-camps included Dresden, Chemnitz, Regensburg and Nürnberg, in addition to sites located within the Protektorat Böhmen und Mähren, such as Holleischen (see thread: http://www.warrelics.eu/forum/after-...ischen-199265/ ), Leitmeritz and Hradischko.
In 1939, approximately 1,600 inmates were incarcerated at KL-Flossenbürg, with the quota rising to over 18,000 as the war progressed.
KOMMANDANTUR (Commandant offices):
The approach to the site presents the imposing view of the former Kommandantur building, now utilised by the KZ-Gedenkstätte Flossenbürg staff. This area had a row of blocks to the right, which were used as Effektenkammer (storage for prisoner's belongings), with another row of SS guard barracks and lodgings to the left of the main structure. To the right, the former SS garages and locksmith building are visible.