Ratisbon's - Top
Display your banner here

Unmarked 2nd Model Luftwaffe Dagger Thoughts

Article about: I am looking to purchase this Unmarked 2nd model Luftwaffe Dagger and was hoping to illicit another set of eyes for authenticity. From the looks of it, it doesn`t look like a reproduction to

Default Unmarked 2nd Model Luftwaffe Dagger Thoughts

I am looking to purchase this Unmarked 2nd model Luftwaffe Dagger and was hoping to illicit another set of eyes for authenticity. From the looks of it, it doesn`t look like a reproduction to me. Thanks in advanced for the help.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Unmarked 2nd Model Luftwaffe Dagger Thoughts
    P
    Many

Hi,
    It all looks ok to me but I am not an expert, however from what I can see and with my limited knowledge I would say the hilt fittings - pommel and crossguard look like generic types and I think they are produced by WKC as used by other manufacturers, the grip looks like white celluloid over a wooden core or a later plaster filled one with (springy) aluminium grip wire it has a small crack which is not unusual but lowers the value very slightly, the unmarked blade looks good but photos are poor to tell if it has been cleaned or not (does it still have it's original crossgrain polish or is it a plated type?, the steel scabbard I also think is generic with what look to me like aluminium WKC scabbard bands it has a reverse throat screw that is missing and lastly the portepee also looks ok but again your photos are poor and make it difficult to tell for sure. All in all it looks like a typical unmarked Luftwaffe second pattern, but wait for the more experienced and knowledgeable collectors to give opinions before committing to a purchase and making sure the asking price is right.
    Regards, Andy.
    ps: I just noticed after posting this reply it says you are "BANNED" under your user name so apologies to admin if I should not have replied to this thread? or to you if it is a glitch?

?