Military Antiques Stockholm - Top
Display your banner here

help - Ciney Belgium Militaria show 30 OCT

Article about: I will be attending the big show in Ciney, Belgium on 30 OCT. I am new to collecting and not good at spotting fake stuff. Thus, I wanted to ask if someone could steer me toward some reputabl

?

Default help - Ciney Belgium Militaria show 30 OCT

I will be attending the big show in Ciney, Belgium on 30 OCT.
    I am new to collecting and not good at spotting fake stuff.
    Thus, I wanted to ask if someone could steer me toward some reputable vendors that will be at the show?

Thanks!

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement help - Ciney Belgium Militaria show 30  OCT
    P
    Many

Lightbulb

I risk sounding rather unhelpful here, but it's not the best idea to go to a big fair like this if you haven't researched your area of interest. What are you hoping to find ? For instance, if you're collecting SS-related items etc then for sure, many of the items you see there will be fake. If you're collecting munition boxes, tank parts etc then items will most likely be correct - but still, you do need to know what it is you are looking at !

Certainly you'll find reputable dealers there ( some of the sponsors of this forum, for instance, may be attending ). But Ciney ( and other big fairs such as La Gleize ) are very big, very busy - and all the really good stuff sells in the first hour. There's no second chance - if you spot something good and go back 10 minutes later to buy it - it'll be gone. But that's the thrill of the chase - if you've done your homework, you know you've found something good immediately.

Also, many of the top dealers charge top prices - you're paying for their expertise ( and overheads ). The best 'bargains' I've had at Continental fairs have always been from collectors who take a stall at such events to raise money by selling surplus items.

Perhaps if you let us know what you're collecting, we'll be able to help more....

Hello ajsell,