Rg-militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Fake?

Article about: I'm completely new to collecting NSDAP badges. Does the position of the pin and the lack of official markings automatically render this a fake?

Demagogue
    ?

Default Fake?

Fake?

I'm completely new to collecting NSDAP badges. Does the position of the pin and the lack of official markings automatically render this a fake?

2. # ADS

Personally I don't like the look of it. I'm no expert in regards to party badges, but the lack of makers mark and (quite nasty) hand scrawled engraving suggests it's pretty suspect. Others on here could cast a more knowing eye over it.

The party badges are not exactly rare and can go for still reasonable prices. I'd hold onto your money, pay a bit more and buy one from a reputable buyer which is a guaranteed original with a makers mark and doesn't have a broken enamel swastika too!

?

I also suspect this one is not original, but better photos would be needed before I'd say for sure. To answer your question, the placement of the pin and the lack of maker marks does not automatically render any badge fake. The pin plate can be found in a variety of configurations, and some unmarked original badges do exist. However, any unmarked examples should be treated with caution, as it is a common province of fakers and much less commonly seen on original badges.

You could also check this one (and any others you wish to buy in the future) alongside some of the originals featured on the site. Particularly here:

The official, "unofficial", Party badge thread.

You'll notice one or two without maker marks, but the manufacturing and quality are still of a significantly high standard.

Demagogue
    ?