Wardmilitaria - Top
Display your banner here

Flugzeugführerabzeichen, Gebrüder Wegerhoff

Article about: Hello Doc, Welcome to the Forum! About the Pilot's Badge, I'd have to say that it's pretty much a person to person thing, but as for myself, I would not consider that, unfortunately, it was

Doc
    ?

Default Flugzeugführerabzeichen, Gebrüder Wegerhoff

Hi all. New member here. I've been collecting WW2 German war memorabilia off and on for about 15 years now. I have a question and I'm hoping someone here can help. An acquaintance from work who knows I'm a collector recently approached me about a German medal that he had in his possession and asked if I was interested in buying it. I told him I'd take a look at it, and he allowed me to take it home and research it. Well, I did, and by comparing it to one of my books, "Detecting the Fakes", I classified this medal as a fake. However, in the back of my mind, I couldn't let it go, so I looked up GWL to get the specifics on this manufacturer. Sure enough, it's quite different from medals made by other manufacturers. It's the pilot's badge, however the wreath has been removed leaving just the eagle and swastika. However, it is IDENTICAL to the one pictured in this forum, and has the countersunk-looking rivets with the dimples on the tips. It even has the small imperfection on the circle surrounding the maker's stamp, at about the 7 o'clock location, as was mentioned in some of the other places I researched. From what I can tell, it's an authentic medal. Now, here's my question: Assuming that it is in fact real, does it still have any value without the wreath being attached to it? And if so, any ideas on what it might be worth? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks! ~"Doc"

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Flugzeugführerabzeichen, Gebrüder Wegerhoff
    P
    Many