Militaria Romandie - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Grandpa's little treasure

Article about: Hello I'm a newbie in this site and would like some help. My grandfather used to sneak as a teenager in the German naval base in Salamis during ww2 and found an Iron Cross and a sumarine bad

creative1
    ?

Default Grandpa's little treasure

Hello I'm a newbie in this site and would like some help. My grandfather used to sneak as a teenager in the German naval base in Salamis during ww2 and found an Iron Cross and a sumarine badge. I suppose that they are real since he found them in there.

About the iron cross, I know that it is a Knights Cross Iron Cross 2nd class with a non-magnetic core (I put magnet on its center and it didn't pull it- is it correct to check it this way?) and it looks like it's made of brass???

About the badge i don't know anything. Do you? What do the markings on the back mean?

And a final question, is there anything that I can use to clean both of them?
    Where can I find a nice box to put them in? I checked ebay but nothing...

thank you in advance
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Grandpa's little treasure   Grandpa's little treasure  

Grandpa's little treasure   Grandpa's little treasure  

2. # ADS

Default Re: Grandpa's little treasure

Welcome to the forum!

Sorry I can't help you with the badge or the iron cross, but they are beautiful! Thanks for sharing them with us. One of the other guys will definately be able to help you though.

Lee

?

really dont know about that iron cross ive never seen an all brass version before ive seen brass centre's, bit of an odd one that ????????

Hi,
    Looking at the cross, it may be the size of the knightscross but
    i doubt that it is an issued piece. It is too rough to be worn with any uniform, and is unfinised, My view is that any Kapt, or