Militaria-Reisig & Antiquitäten - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

opinions needed on SS-Dienstauszeichnung 3.Stufe (8 Jahre)

Article about: need your opinions (good or bad) on this medal, many thanks for your help

Default Re: opinions needed on SS-Dienstauszeichnung 3.Stufe (8 Jahre)

There you go lengies, sounds like a goer There are plenty of other people giving it the thumbs up !

Nick
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement opinions needed on SS-Dienstauszeichnung 3.Stufe (8 Jahre)
    P
    Many

These awards are indeed controversial and seem to cause great debate.I posted one on this board not so long ago that in many ways matched perfectly this example but was deemed a repro because of its six vertical lines at the bottom at the laurel leaf instead of the excepted five.

I have also observed a light brown coloured version of this medal with very fine 'finger print' pebbling that is deemed to be original.There appears little info about these medals which does not help matters but I am led to believe there were two producers of this award..the cause of any variant in appearance...type I /type II ?

The type 1 is considered to be by Deschler, the type 2 by Petz & Lorenz/Schickle but it is also thought that a possible 3rd type was produced post war by Souval, although there is no solid proof of this as yet.

The most obvious differences in the type 1 and 2 are that the background 'stippling/bubbling/hatching' whatever you want to use to describe it, on the type 1, is a lot smoother and subtle than on the type 2. There also is a marked difference in the definition/design of the wreath binding. There are other differences, but the ones given here are the easiest to see on the small pic's above.