Rg-militaria - Top
Display your banner here

Recognizing the fakes

Article about: Hello Nick, I'm just beginning to explore the whole area of exploring German WWII badges, and obviously this area of the website - fakes - is invaluable to a beginner. I wonder if it is poss

joey-barrel
    ?

Default Recognizing the fakes

Hello Nick,

I'm just beginning to explore the whole area of exploring German WWII badges, and obviously this area of the website - fakes - is invaluable to a beginner.

I wonder if it is possible to explain, for each fake badge posted, how you can tell that the badge is a fake and not real, for example -
    1) are the makers names on badges wrong,
    2) are there areas wrongly copied (I just read about there being no space between an eagles claws and the swastika),
    3) is the colour or shape wrong,
    4) is the type of metal wrong (hard to determine froma picture - I agree).

If expert eyes can spot these things and can explain along side each picture why it is a fake (or why a badge is genuine), this would be an invaluable resource for all.

Kind regards,
    Joey.
    Last edited by Nick VR; 03-29-2009 at 09:49 AM.

2. # ADS

Default Re: Flottenkriegsabzeichen Fake Gallery

Thanks Nick that provide so much good fake example for us, but....
    Hmm.... I agree some point of view from Joey
    beginners need to be read more text books,

First of all they need to familiar what original stuff looks like, and compare with fake one , so that they could understand what is " Poor Detail" that fake badges always be...

Second, they must understand some part of manufacturers' characters, its trademarks, eagle head, painting finnish, pin assemble and so on....

A lot of great awards text book shows how originals look like, they, however rarely present amount of fakes as a main content that's why I wrote my prospect above.

Fake Gallery has its value in every forum, but as beginner they need to do homework first!!!!

Kr
    Eric