Great Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

SS-Dienstauszeichnung 3.Stufe (8 Jahre).

Article about: This is one of a series of postings regarding medals my uncle brought back from Germany after the war. I believe this is a Long Service medal for the SS (8 years). I have two of these. Inter

Default SS-Dienstauszeichnung 3.Stufe (8 Jahre).

This is one of a series of postings regarding medals my uncle brought back from Germany after the war. I believe this is a Long Service medal for the SS (8 years). I have two of these.

Interesting that neither has a loop for ribbon but maybe these weren't worn that way?

Regards,

Pat
    Last edited by Adrian; 03-13-2013 at 07:23 PM. Reason: Title changed to use German terminology.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement SS-Dienstauszeichnung 3.Stufe (8 Jahre).
    P
    Many

Default Re: Long Service (8) to SS

It looks original but strange the suspension ring is missing

Nick
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

?

Default Re: SS-Dienstauszeichnung 3.Stufe (8 Jahre).

It would've been suspended from a blue ribbon.

Looking for LDO marked EK2s and items relating to U-406.....

Details look soft and the pebbling appears faint, not an example I would be comfortable with.

I agree with Glenn...terrible poor details-even to the large runes. There looks to be a line glob to the right at 3 O'Clock of the large runes inside the wreath as well. I would definitely pass on it if offered.
    William

"Much that once was, is lost. For none now live who remember it."

Thanks for the feedback. My uncle, a major in the Allied occupation forces, brought this item and others back from Germany in 1945. He entered the country a few weeks behind the combat troops. Probably obtained in Munich, Heidelberg or another city in southern Germany. Where were these minted? Were they being forged as early as 1944?

Thanks,

Pat

Hi Pat,