Ratisbon's - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Help Needed With a "For Courage" medal

Article about: Hey Guys! Newbie here. I have this "for courage" medal (With a tank and planes on it, you know) and I'm really interested in the serial number on the reverse side. What does it mea

?

Default Help Needed With a "For Courage" medal

Hey Guys!

Newbie here. I have this "for courage" medal (With a tank and planes on it, you know) and I'm really interested in the serial number on the reverse side. What does it mean? the number is 2987078

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Help Needed With a "For Courage" medal
    P
    Many

Default Re: Help Needed With a "For Courage" medal

Any chance of posting a photo please.

The number is the issue number or serial numer

Established 17 October 1938. Also known as the "Medal for Courage", "Medal for Valor" and "Medal for Gallantry". Considered the most highly respected Soviet military medal, it was awarded to personnel of all ranks in the Army, Navy, Border Troops and Ministry of Internal Affairs troops for personal bravery in a theater of operations; in defense of USSR borders; for performance of a soldier's duty in life-risking situations; and for activities against spies and subversive elements. Citizens as well as foreigners were also eligible for this award. This award could be received more than once. It is made of silver. Approximately 4,600,000 were issued.

?

sorry guys, no camera available for now (( It's essentially like the one Totenhead just posted, only older looking. so what does this "issue number mean"? Does it have a chronological meaning? Is mine "high" or "low"? Please elaborate if you can guys.

Deekay

The number is the serial number of the medal, and is a reference to whom it was issued to, the number would be written in the award booklet, see my picture