Virtual Grenadier - Top
Display your banner here

Stalingrad group

Article about: I am interested in this group being sold for 210 euro. I am new to collecting WW2 awards so I don't feel confident in spotting fakes and "bad groups" (Where medals and documents ha

Default Stalingrad group

I am interested in this group being sold for 210 euro. I am new to collecting WW2 awards so I don't feel confident in spotting fakes and "bad groups" (Where medals and documents have been put together from different people to look like a group from 1 person). I am using different reference websites and books but it's still quite hard to spot the differences.. What is your opinion on this one? I was wondering why there is no "Victory over Germany medal" but maybe they use to replace it with the anniversary medal?

Stalingrad medal bar to a sergeant in the Guards artillery, with the award document to the Stalingrad medal and award booklet.

Stalingrad group

Stalingrad group

Stalingrad group

Stalingrad group

Stalingrad group

Stalingrad group

Stalingrad group

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Stalingrad group
    P
    Many

?

That group has already been discussed on the forum:

Assorted Soviet Documents
    Soviet Medal Group

Ah, I tried to search the forum but did not find that one. Thanks Auke! So seems like the photo in this group has been added since Totenhead had it...

Amazing to see this group was in USA just about a year ago, then England and now it's in South Africa! And obviously it's possible that it has been in other places as well... I bought my first medal about 6 years ago on a trip to Germany and I still have it in my collection. I don't understand people buying just to sell it a few weeks/months later. Do you think there is anything wrong with it since people keep passing it around?

Thinking of buying it so I can put it to rest in dignity in my award collection. 210 euro seems a little high though but what do I know.