Combat-relics.com - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

newbie...please help!

Article about: Wow Ade! im in awe!!! cant see a number on the silver war medal im afraid?? thanks for all the great advice...brilliant!!! would it be easy to find out if he had a son that served aswell?? c

Default newbie...please help!

I found these medals and cap badges at a car boot at the weekend and was wondering if someone could elaborate more for me.
    the ww1 medals are issued to 'private S.Lane labour corps no.127899'
    would the other medals mean he served in ww2 also or perhaps a sons medals?
    Im quite new to collecting militaria and these are my first decent find to mention,
    problem is now ive found something dont really know where to go from here lol!!
    have tried looking online to identify cap badges etc but am having no joy!! any advice on books i could get to help would be much appreciated also!!
    in the meantime if anyone can identify cap badges that would be great!!
    thanking you all in advance!
    a confused virgin!
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture newbie...please help!   newbie...please help!  

newbie...please help!  

Default Re: newbie...please help!

As the medals are cased together with a King's Badge (round) and a Pioneer Corps cap badge (same as Labor Corps), they might well belong to the same man, or could be father and son. It's a nice group either way.

National Archives might be able to provide a medal card as you have the man's number.

CWGC would tell you if he was killed, but the King's Badge was awarded to men invalided out and in receipt of a pension, so he probably wasn't.

The medals are WW1 Victory; British War Medal 1914-20; 1939-45 War Medal; 1939-45 Star for Overseas Service; Africa Star with ribbon reversed (navy blue on left, air force blue on right, but if the case is sealed just leave it as is).We mentioed the "Chunky" cap badge and the King's Badge.