Griffin Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

How to tell if my 30mm Aden LV is live or inert

Article about: Hi everyone, I'm very new to this topic. I found 34 20mm spitfire rounds on the beach today and 2 30mm Aden LV's. 1 LV is missing the point revealing a dense blue and white coated inside. Th

Default How to tell if my 30mm Aden LV is live or inert

Hi everyone, I'm very new to this topic.
    I found 34 20mm spitfire rounds on the beach today and 2 30mm Aden LV's.
    1 LV is missing the point revealing a dense blue and white coated inside.
    The other LV pictured is whole of course.
    My question is....how do I tell if it's inert or live.
    There's no remains of blue paint or any markings whatsoever due to corrosion from the ocean.

If anyone can help I'd greatly appreciate it.

Thanks.

CBH
    ?

You can never be sure with relic ordnance like this, I'd be concerned with the 30mm being a beach find once whatever is inside dries out it might become unstable. The 20mm have marked on the drive bands showing they have been fired, so are probably safe but, You only have to be Wrong Once. Welcome to the forum.

They could just be training rounds, and thus inert, but with things like this it's far better to be safe than sorry. The coating you mention could be white phosphorus, used in tracer rounds. It's a highly dangerous and volatile substance, even after decades in the ground. Although if you're referring to the one on the right, it looks more like a hardened armour-piercing tip to me.

I'm by no means a munitions expert, though. Best wait for those in the know to chip in.

B.B.

Thanks Chris, much appreciated.

Thanks fellas, much appreciated. I would love to keep the 30mm Aden but it's relatively light which I've been informed by a guy who forwarded the pic to a chap from the EOD that it generally means it's dangerous.
    Wish I could tell.
    Maybe I should bite the bullet and call the coastguard and get rid.