Militaria-Reisig & Antiquitäten - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Unknown stick grenade?

Article about: Hello all, Can anyone help me identify this stick grenade? It belongs to an aquantance who wishes to sell it to help raise money to purchase a uniform for his collection. He tells me that th

Default Unknown stick grenade?

Hello all,
    Can anyone help me identify this stick grenade? It belongs to an aquantance who wishes to sell it to help raise money to purchase a uniform for his collection. He tells me that the head is glued to the stick and is not sure if this is a "marraige" or a genuine piece. He thinks the white painted band indicates that it was a smoke grenade.
    This has me confused as I'm not an expert on grenades although it seems somehow familier to me.
    If anyone can help me help him I will be most gratefull and I may be able to persuade him to join WRF.
    Very hopeful regards,
    navyman.Unknown stick grenade?Unknown stick grenade?Unknown stick grenade?Unknown stick grenade?Unknown stick grenade?

Default Re: Unknown stick grenade?

i think that is German

I think it is a bit of a hybrid. Looks like a German smoke grenade stick, and an M43 frag grenade head. The band on the stick and the ridges toward the bottom both indicate a smoke grenade; the ridges make it easy to identify with just your hands. The head for a smoke grenade has holes in around the bottom of the canister to allow the smoke to disperse.

Model 43 steilhandgranate with an early model handle. The 43 had a solid handle.

Thanks all,
    Any idea whether it's worth him offering this for sale, if so what sort of asking price? Any more info gratefully received.
    Cheers,
    Guy.

CBH
    ?

It has a M1943 head , with a smoke grenade handle ( the ridges around the bottom ) as stated above . As a miss matched item pricing will be difficult .
    Cheers Chris