Lakesidetrader - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

EWE bronze

Article about: Congrats Nick! Welcome to the Panzerkampf Abzeichen club. Ralph.

Default EWE bronze

Looking for my first Panzerkampf Abzeichen, this has had a good review but as always I would appreciate your comments please

Catch is missing but it makes it more affordable

Cheers

Nick
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture EWE bronze   EWE bronze  

"In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement EWE bronze
    P
    Many

A couple of close up shots

Nick
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture EWE bronze   EWE bronze  

"In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

Nice find Nick, congrats. Stewy

Although an unknown maker, EWE are thought to possibly have been a very small Austrian company that had little experience of badge production. This is the only type (Design type 5) that they produced and is therefore a fairly rare badge. The company is renowned for the good quality of finish on the badges, a type called Brennlack, and the copious use of hand finishing as can be seen by the skilled hand filing noticable on the reverse.

Unfortunately, this particular badge has only a limited amount of finish left, and also shows signs of serious zinc pest appearing all over. The lack of a catch also seriously hinders the collectability of this badge, as no Panzerkampf Abzeichen collector would really consider it. But if it's really cheap and someone really wants it that's up to them, as realistically this would sit in a dealers window until doomsday, it's pretty rough and undesirable imo.

Regards, Ned.
    'I do not think we can hope for any better thing now.
    We shall stick it out to the end, but we are getting weaker of course, and the end cannot be far.