Combat-relics.com - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Advice for a Budding Collector

Article about: Hello everyone! I am not just new to this forum, I am also very new to collecting military-related photographs. I have been studying history and art history for the past five years but, almo

Default Advice for a Budding Collector

Hello everyone!

I am not just new to this forum, I am also very new to collecting military-related photographs. I have been studying history and art history for the past five years but, almost as though out of nowhere, I began to feverishly collect World War II photographs and negatives only this past summer. It has brought me great joy, acquainting myself with the stories and faces of those who were witnesses and participants of that war.

As I am very new to this all, I am starting this thread with the hope that you experienced lot could help this young enthusiast out with advice regarding the authenticity of the photographs and to inform me a little on their subject matter. I am hoping to exhibit some of my pictures in a museum space sometime soon.

First, this black and white negative (6 x 4 cm). I scanned it at a fairly high resolution so that you may be able to inspect its details. What can you tell me about these men's rank and about the train? What is the "story" that is being told?

Many thanks in advance! I will be posting some of my other photographs too.
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Advice for a Budding Collector  

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Advice for a Budding Collector
    P
    Many

Welcome to the forum!

The men in the photograph are Luftwaffe personnel. All the men apart from the one on the extreme right are NCO's, as indicated by the silver piping on their collars and shoulderboards.