Wardmilitaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Opinions on this Michael Wittmann letter

Article about: page 334 "Michael Wittmann and the Waffen SS Tiger Commanders of the ..., Volume 1" Robert Pertuss is mentioned

Question Opinions on this Michael Wittmann letter

Would anyone be so kind as to give me their opinions on this Wittmann document? I believe the feldpost number is valid and the contents of the message seem valid given that Wittmann had just visited Henschel a few days earlier. I am no expert but the signature seems acceptable to me after comparing it to other examples I found online. I was hoping I could get the opinion of the document as a whole and of the signature from those more knowledgeable than me.

I have been able to verify that there was an engineer at Henschel named Robert A. Pertuss. There are some quotes from him in the book "Tiger I and Sturmtiger in Detail" by Uwe Feist and Bruce Culver. Of course if the document was faked they could easily have gotten the name from the book. There is also a photo of Wittmann with Herr Pertuss here: Bilderarchiv 1933-1945

Here is a closeup of the signature.

I would be grateful for any opinions.
    Thank you,
    Alan Hamby

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Opinions on this Michael Wittmann letter
    P
    Many

I like it very much...I believe it is an authentic letter...I'm fluent in German, by the way...
    cheers, Glenn

Glenn, Thank you very much for your reply. I had run it through an online translator to understand what it was saying but I didn't know if grammatically it sounded correct for something a wartime soldier would write. So the grammar sounds correct to you?

Alan

?

Very unusual Alan i've never seen a document on personalised notepaper for someone of such a low rank ( even with Wittmanns status ) !!

Are there any examples of anything similar anywhere ?